System of government of the Republic of Armenia

The Republic of Armenia is an independent, democratic, social and legal state. In the Republic of Armenia the power belongs to the people.

The people implement its power through free elections, referendums, as well as through state and local self-government bodies and officials.

The state power is implemented in compliance with the Constitution and laws based on the principle distinguishing the legislative, executive and judicial powers.


The Constitution of the Republic of Armenia was adopted by a national referendum on July 5, 1995.
Amendments to the RA Constitution were made on November 27, 2005 and on December 6, 2015 also by national referendums.

The President

The President of the Republic of Armenia is the head of State. The President ensures adherence to the Constitution and provides for regular functioning of legislative, executive and judicial authorities. The President is the guarantor of Republic of Armenia's sovereignty, territorial integrity and security. The President of Republic is elected by the citizens of the Republic of Armenia for a five year term of office.

The Executive Power

Executive power is exercised by RA Government. The Government is composed of Prime Minister and Ministers. Based on consultations held with National Assembly factions, the President of Republic appoints the person nominated by the parliamentary majority to be Prime Minister or - where impossible - the person nominated by the largest number of NA membership. The President of the Republic appoints and discharges members of government on Prime Minister's proposal.

The Legislative Power

The single-chambered National Assembly is the supreme legislative authority of the Republic of Armenia. The National Assembly consists of 131 deputies /90 of which are elected on the basis of proportional representation and 41- majority representation/. The National Assembly is elected through general elections for a term of five years. Parliamentary elections were last held in May 2012.

The Judicial Power

In the Republic of Armenia justice shall be administered solely by the courts in accordance with the Constitution and the laws. The courts operating in the Republic of Armenia are the first instance court of general jurisdiction, the courts of appeal, the Court of Cassation, as well as specialized courts in cases prescribed by the law. The highest court instance in the Republic of Armenia, except for matters of constitutional justice, is the Court of Cassation, which shall ensure uniformity in the implementation of the law. The Constitutional Court shall administer the constitutional justice in the Republic of Armenia. The independence of courts shall be guaranteed by the Constitution and laws. The Constitution and the law shall define the procedure for the formation and activities of the Council of Justice. The Office of the Prosecutor General in the Republic of Armenia represents a unified, centralized system, headed by the Prosecutor General. The Office of the Prosecutor General shall operate within the powers granted by the Constitution and on the basis of the law.

Administrative territorial units of the Republic of Armenia

Administrative and territorial units of the Republic of Armenia are marzes and communities. Marzes consist of rural and urban communities. The entire territory of Armenia is divided into 10 marzes. They are:
Aragatsotn marz, Ararat marz, Armavir marz, Gegharkunik marz, Lori marz, Kotyaik marz, Shirak marz, Syunik marz, Tavush marz and Vayots Dzor.
Yerevan has status of municipality. Self-governance in Yerevan city is conducted according to the provisions of the RA Law on “Local Self-governance in the city of Yerevan.”

Letter to the
President of Armenia

This section allows you to express views, opinions and visions in writing. Letters sent to the President of Armenia from this page are not considered to be formal. These letters are of informative nature exclusively and are not subject to official processing.