12, 2008

President Serzh Sargsyan received members of the National Assembly of France

album picture
album picture
album picture
Today, President Serzh Sargsyan received members of the National Assembly of France, Chairman of the France-Armenia Friendship Group Francois Rochebloine and Vice-Chairman Rene Rouquet, who have arrived to Armenia to attend the commemoration of the 20th anniversary of the devastating earthquake of 1988.

The President of Armenia said that Armenia is grateful to France for the assistance provided to our country after the earthquake.

Serzh Sargsyan hailed the activities of the French parliamentarians and informed that he has signed a decree to award Francois Rochebloine and Rene Rouquet with the Medal of Honor for their assistance to Armenia after the devastating earthquake of 1988 and their continued work directed at strengthening friendly relations between the peoples of Armenia and France.

The President of Armenia thanked them and handed the high state awards.

Mr. Francois Rochebloine said the award was compelling and he would continue to do his best to be worthy of it. Mr. Rene Rouquet noted that he considers the award to be the acknowledgment and recognition of his twenty-year long activities.

Stressing particularly warm feelings of our people toward France and the French people, Serzh Sargsyan spoke with satisfaction about the prospects for development of the bilateral economic and political relations, noting that during his short time in office he has had met with the President of France twice.

The parties spoke also about the Armenian-French cooperation in the framework of international organizations.

← Back to list